Section 8 Housing

Section 8 Housing

Rental Assistance

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program provides rental assistance payments to private landlords. This program offers eligible participants the ability to rent decent, safe housing and pay no more than 40% of their income for rent. There are subsidies available for one, two, three, and four bedroom homes including apartments, mobile homes, duplexes or any kind of dwelling that meets the standards set by the program.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

    How do I receive a Section 8 voucher?
  • Contact our office at 903-813-3536 to find out if we're currently accepting applications.
  • Is Section 8 available where I live?
  • TCOG currently only administers the Section 8 program in Fannin and Grayson Counties. Visit U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) to find agencies who administer the Section 8 HCV Program in other areas.
  • Are there any other agencies that offer the Section 8 program in the Texoma region?
  • Yes. Grayson County Housing Authority administers a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program and the Gainesville Housing Authority operates a Section 8 Program in Cooke County.

Family Self-Sufficiency Program

The Goal

The goal of the TCOG Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS) program is to provide clients with the tools necessary to achieve financial self sufficiency.


Eligible clients are residents in the Section 8 Housing Program who enter into a contract of participation which identifies individual goals that once accomplished will result in achieving self sufficiency. When a client's income increases, the increased portion to the rental amount goes into an interest bearing escrow account which the client will receive after completion of the contract of participation.


  1. Homemaking, parenting skills and money management
  2. Homeownership Counseling
  3. One-on-one home ownership counseling available
  4. Referrals
  5. Transportation
  6. Job Training
  7. Child Care
  8. Education
  9. Substance Abuse Treatment
  10. Other Resources
  11. Additional resources available based on individual contract of participation

FSS Newsletter

Committee Members

Fannin County
  • Cornelius Young
  • Crystal Martines
  • Frances Greer
  • Kyle Beard
  • Mercedes Garza
  • Raymond Padilla, Jr.
  • Staci Murden
  • Terry Carr
Grayson County
  • Barbra Phillips
  • Christen Chaffin
  • Claudia Barnes
  • Katie Baillio
  • Kenisha Golston
  • Larry Turner
  • Michael Armstrong
  • Otis Bursey
  • Sheila Vaughn
  • Tomyra Britt

Section 8 HCV Homeownership Program

The American Dream

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program helps families to achieve the American dream of homeownership.

Enriched Education & Assistance

    The families who are currently participating in the program receive educational instruction in the following areas:
  1. Creating a satisfactory credit history
  2. Saving for a down payment and closing costs
  3. Utilizing independent inspections
  4. Obtaining Homebuyer Education Certifications

Success Rate

Families may purchase an existing or newly-constructed home. This year we have celebrated with eight families who have realized their dream of owning their own home.